Site Logo

The 5 Love Languages – Gary Chapman

24th August 2019
The 5 Love Languages book cover


The 5 Love Languages is all about love. All the advice is based on the author’s experience as a marriage counsellor and his own life experiences.


Gary Chapman is a speaker and counsellor who help people to form lasting relationships. He frequently hosts marriage conferences. He has numerous books related to the emotion and love. Besides that, he is also the host of a few radio programmes related to his expertise.


The book has 14 chapters. At the conclusion of the book are 2 questionnaires, The Five Love Languages Profile for Husbands and The Five Love Languages Profile for Wives. The author starts with how we fall in love and what happens after the infatuation ends, the 5 different languages of love and how to express love in these languages. He also mentions about how should we love our children. The questionnaires at the end of book are meant to let us find out which is/are our primary love language(s).


This book is mainly about how to express love in a way that is valued by our loved ones. According to the author, the failures in relationships are principally due to the expression of wrong love languages. If we converse in the right love language, our relationships will flourish. The 5 love languages that the author espouses are Words of Affirmation, Quality Time, Receiving Gifts, Acts of Service and Physical Touch. Each of us has a primary love language and some may even be bilingual. Thus, it is important to identify our own love language and our loved ones’ to facilitate effective communication.

The author brings us through the lives of several couples that he met in villages and cities, counselling office and restaurants to highlight his points. Through these narrations, he shows us the importance of showing love in the right languages, according to the preference of the recipient. If we are unable to do that, our loved ones will not feel love even though we thought we are showering them with our love. He also shows some ways to repair or salvage our relationships, even those that seem unsalvageable.

I think that this book is good for anyone who wants to express love in an effective way, which can be everyone. Always remember to request (which can be rejected by the requestee) rather than demand (which is like an order).


  1. The need for significance is the emotional force behind much of our behavior. Life is driven by the desire for success.
  2. When an action doesn’t come naturally to you, it is a greater expression of love.
  3. A relationship calls for sympathetic listening with a view to understanding the other person’s thoughts, feelings and desires.
  4. The manner in which we speak is exceedingly important.
  5. The object of love is not getting something you want but doing something for the well-being of the one you love.


3 out of 3 stars

Interested in The 5 Love Languages?

You may get the book from Kinokuniya Malaysia through the link below*.

Get the book here

*Disclosure: The above link is Involve Asia affiliate link. Thus, I may earn a small commission when you purchase the book through this link.

No Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *